Titel

The Vulgar - Fashion Redefined

The Vulgar - Fashion Redefined

The concept of 'vulgar' in fashion

The word ‘vulgar’ was originally used in the English-speaking world to characterize a social class and to describe anything that was commonly prevalent. Over time, this neutral description became an insult. Vulgarity became associated with pretension and ambition, with aspirations to special privileges. And it still conjures up negative connotations – words like ‘provocative’, ‘over the top’ and ‘common’ spring to mind. 

Curator Judith Clark

Judith Clark
Judith Clark has curated and designed the exhibition around 12 new definitions of the word by psychoanalyst Adam Phillips. Arranged around thematic categories, such as ‘Too Much’, ‘Showing Off’ and ‘Extreme Bodies’, Clark and Phillips enter into a dialogue that accompanies the visitor through the exhibition. Creations by Walter Van Beirendonck, Christian Dior, Karl Lagerfeld for Chloé, Prada, Vivienne Westwood, Louis Vuitton and Givenchy amongst others illustrate this complex idea. The exhibition combines historical costume, couture and ready-to-wear fashion with every exhibit reflecting certain aspects of the vulgar. The garments illustrate the instability of taste: what was once equated with vulgarity is re-conjured by designers to become the height of fashion. 

Mantua dresses

Mantua dresses with their extremely large skirts and dramatic silhouettes, which were worn at the English court in the mid-eighteenth century are presented next to creations by contemporary designers. The famous ‘Mondrian dress’ by Yves Saint Laurent engages with copies and reworked versions, and the popular designs by Moschino are confronted with Andy Warhol inspired 1960's Souper dress.

International top exhibition

Yves Saint Laurent
This unique and acclaimed exhibition was previously shown at The Barbican Art Gallery in London and at the Winterpalais in Vienna. For the exhibition in Hasselt new looks from the museum’s collection will be added. ‘The Vulgar’ at Modemuseum Hasselt- located in a former convent- promises to be a provocative and engaging experience. 

More information

The Vulgar

Modemuseum Hasselt

Gasthuisstraat 11
3500 Hasselt

Subscribe to our newsletter and stay up to date

Email:

Titel

The Vulgar - Fashion Redefined

Partagez cette page:
LinkedIn

The Vulgar - Fashion Redefined

Le terme 'vulgar' à la mode

En anglais, le terme vulgar était utilisé à l’origine pour désigner une classe sociale et pour signifier tout ce qui était populaire et commun. Cependant, au fil du temps, cette acception neutre évolua en insulte. La vulgarité fut associée à la prétention et à l’ambition déplacée. Aujourd’hui, le mot a gardé une connotation négative, même en français. Il se voit souvent associé à la provocation, à la grossièreté, au manque de finesse, à la populace et à l’excès. 

Conservateur Judith Clark

La commissaire Judith Clark construit l’exposition autour de 12 définitions du vulgaire, proposées par le psychanalyste Adam Phillips. Au gré de thématiques variées, telles que l’« exubérance », les « corps extrêmes » et la « parade », les commissaires engagent un dialogue avec le visiteur tout au long de l’exposition. Cette histoire fascinante est illustrée par des créations de Walter Van Beirendonck, Christian Dior, Karl Lagerfeld pour Chloé, Prada, Vivienne Westwood, Louis Vuitton ou encore Givenchy, pour ne citer qu’eux. Des parures historiques à la haute couture en passant par le prêt-à-porter, chaque pièce exposée incarne divers aspects du vulgaire. 

 

L’exposition montre ainsi à quel point le « bon goût » est une réalité fugace et fluctuante. Ce qui était jadis considéré comme vulgaire est aujourd’hui une valeur sûre de la mode.

Les robes à la Mantua

Les robes à la Mantua, aux jupes démesurées et à la silhouette dramatique, portées à la Cour au milieu du xviiie siècle, y côtoient des pièces de créateurs contemporains. La célèbre robe Mondrian d’Yves Saint Laurent entre en dialogue avec ses innombrables copies et reprises, tandis que les créations populaires de Moschino sont confrontées à Andy Warhol et la souper dress des années soixante. 

Grande exposition internationale

Cette exposition unique et saluée par la critique a déjà posé ses malles à The Barbican Art Gallery de Londres, puis au Palais d’hiver à Vienne. À Hasselt, elle sera étoffée de pièces vestimentaires issues de la collection du musée et des collections de prêteurs internationaux. Au MMH, abrité dans un ancien monastère, « The Vulgar » promet d’ores et déjà une expérience stimulante et profondément envoûtante.

www.modemuseumhasselt.be

The Vulgar

Modemuseum Hasselt

Gasthuisstraat 11
3500 Hasselt

Tenez-vous au courant

Email: